Manpreet Dhillon is passionate about economic equality for racialized and marginalized groups. She feels if we have a world where people are in their power, they won’t take that power from someone else. It will create communities that are based on connection. Manpreet Dhillon founded her company, Veza Global to do this work. Veza is a human resources tech and consulting company supporting organizations in embedding equity, diversity and inclusion into the way they work. Manpreet also lives with a high functioning minor brain injury and navigates the world with the lens of feminine leadership qualities of collaboration, connection, empathy, and rest.

Tell us about your journey?

I started doing this work because when I saw injustices it would deeply impact me. I started off in equity, diversity and inclusion through my volunteer work which allowed me to see how important it was for people to understand each other’s cultures and backgrounds. I brought those learnings into my human resources work. In 2011, when Sukhi Ghuman and I co-founded BYOBF Network, I started also diving deeper into my coaching where I worked with women of culturally diverse backgrounds to be at the leadership table. This lead me to be on a few provincial committees to push the focus on gender and race equality forward. In 2012, I was self-employed full-time and I worked on a few international projects, UN projects and consulted for tech companies. In 2017, I realized my mission was bigger than me so I founded Veza Global, an equity, diversity and inclusion tech and consulting company. It brought together my years in running tech organizations, human resources and my passion for equity for all.


What is the hardest challenge you have come up against in your personal/professional life?

The hardest challenge would be not knowing the impact of the minor brain injury I had for over 20 years. I couldn’t figure out why day to day life was really just hard. I would be constantly stressed and it impacted my personal relationships. I chalked it up to the fact maybe I was just a robot or something was wrong with me, whereas when I found out it was the impact of having 9 concussions, it was a life changer. I wish I had listened to my body more and my intuition more as I knew I needed to do certain things in my life, however I didn’t give myself permission to be right. Now I focus on what feels right to me even if it doesn’t make sense.

What advice would you give young South Asian women/non-binary individuals wanting to do what you do?

Volunteer and get experience. It is important to work with marginalized and racialized groups so you can understand their lived experiences in order to support them. Volunteer in the community and put your hand for committees at work where it allows you to break out of the silo and understand how to create change within the organization.

What do you do to help South Asian women/non-binary individuals feel empowered?

For me, it is about cheering each other on publicly and privately. It is also about checking in with each out to find out what is really going on and what kind of support do they need.


If you could tell your teenage self something, what would it be?

I would tell her that you are stronger and more powerful than you will ever give yourself credit for. Your courage is what is going to lead you to some of the most amazing experiences like a State Dinner and running a trade mission for women entrepreneurs to leading events in Pakistan and Nepal. You will reach each of your dreams like working for the UN because you know you can make it happen.

What is your personal motto or mission statement?

The power is in the mind. I can co-create anything that is in my highest good. It is all about being the vibrational match.

Besides your work, what are you passionate about?

I am passionate about learning languages (currently learning Dutch and French), practicing my snare drumming technique and connecting to oneness energy while meditating. I love adventures with my nieces and nephews.


Where can one find you on your days off?

I usually dance, meditate, journal before meeting up with friends for soulful conversation and yummy food. I love the arts so will immerse myself in arts and culture when I can.

How do you balance work, life, family?

I usually start my day at 5:00am so I have 2-3 hours to myself. I have jam packed days on Mondays to Thursdays until 4:00pm – when I shut my computer down for the day. I take Fridays off. I surround myself with a great team who are super supportive.

Are there any upcoming events or projects you would like our audience to know about?

We have our second version of our gamified equity, diversity and inclusion tool coming out in the next few months. Currently, many small to medium-size businesses are using this tool and our services to support their organization to be more inclusive. If anyone wants to connect on how they can have gender equity and equity in general, let’s chat.

Stay connected with Manpreet

Instagram: and @iammanpreetdhillon

LinkedIn: @manpreetdhillon

Twitter: @vezaglobal and @manpreetd

Resources on how to be a more inclusive ally: